

Gary R. Feldman, MD, FACR President

Madelaine A. Feldman, MD, FACR VP, Advocacy & Government Affairs

Michael Saitta, MD, MBA Treasurer

Aaron Broadwell, MD Secretary

Erin Arnold, MD Director

LL.

Leyka M. Barbosa, MD, FACR Director

Kostas Botsoglou, MD Director

Michael S. Brooks, MD, FACP, FACR Director

Amish J. Dave, MD, MPH Director

Harry Gewanter, MD, FAAP, MACR Director

Adrienne R. Hollander, MD Director

Firas Kassab, MD, FACR Director

Robert W. Levin, MD Director

Amar Majjhoo, MD Director

Gregory W. Niemer, MD Director

Joshua Stolow, MD Director

HEADQUARTER OFFICE

Ann Marie Moss Executive Director

555 E. Wells Street, Suite 1100 Milwaukee, WI 53202-3823 Phone: 414-918-9825 Email: info@csro.info Website: www.csro.info May 14, 2023

Senator Pat Spearman Senate Labor and Commerce Committee 401 South Carson St Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: AB 250

Chair Spearman,

The Coalition of State Rheumatology Organizations (CSRO) is a national organization composed of over 30 state and regional professional rheumatology societies, including our member society covering Nevada. CSRO was formed by physicians to ensure excellence and access to the highest quality care for patients with rheumatologic, autoimmune, and musculoskeletal disease. It is with this in mind that we write to you regarding AB 250.

CSRO believes that reimbursement for provider administered drugs in AB 250 is either unclear and needs clarification, or inconsistent with federal law regarding the Maximum Fair Price (MFP) and needs to be amended.

Subsection 2 of AB 250 requires that a provider may not seek reimbursement at a rate that is "higher than the maximum fair price for that referenced drug during the price applicability period." However, federal law requires that provider administered drugs under Medicare Part B subject to the Maximum Fair Price are reimbursed at 106% of that amount.

Additionally, CSRO is concerned that AB 250 would bar providers from seeking reimbursement for services associated with the administration of the drug and other related overhead. These payments are vital for sustaining the viability of administering drug in the physician office setting. Precluding rheumatologists in Nevada from seeking them would meaningfully reduce the availability of our members services in your state, which would exacerbate existing access issues.

If the legislature's intent is that a provider's administration reimbursement is not affected in anyway by the bill and the reimbursement limitation created by AB 250 applies only to reimbursement for the drug, this should be clarified, similar to the verbiage related to a pharmacist's dispensing fee.

CSRO appreciates the opportunity to share our concerns regarding these issues and is happy to answer any questions you may have.

Respectfully,

6 Tolde

feldmen



Gary R. Feldman, MD, FACR President

Madelaine A. Feldman, MD, FACR VP, Advocacy & Government Affairs

Michael Saitta, MD, MBA Treasurer

Aaron Broadwell, MD Secretary

Erin Arnold, MD Director

V

R

Ч О

BD

00

Leyka M. Barbosa, MD, FACR Director

Kostas Botsoglou, MD Director

Michael S. Brooks, MD, FACP, FACR Director

Amish J. Dave, MD, MPH Director

Harry Gewanter, MD, FAAP, MACR Director

Adrienne R. Hollander, MD Director

Firas Kassab, MD, FACR Director

Robert W. Levin, MD Director

Amar Majjhoo, MD Director

Gregory W. Niemer, MD Director

Joshua Stolow, MD Director

HEADQUARTER OFFICE

Ann Marie Moss Executive Director

555 E. Wells Street, Suite 1100 Milwaukee, WI 53202-3823 Phone: 414-918-9825 Email: Info@csro.info Website: www.csro.info Gary Feldman, MD, FACR President Board of Directors Madelaine A. Feldman, MD, FACR VP, Advocacy & Government Affairs Board of Directors